Petitions Available for Illinois Soybean Board District Director Elections


BLOOMINGTON, ILL. – March 9, 2018 - Petitions are available for growers interested in running for open director positions with the Illinois Soybean Board (ISB). Petitions can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, local University of Illinois Extension offices and the Illinois Soybean Association (ISA). Petitions must be filed by May 15, 2018.
Six Illinois districts will hold director elections this year:
District 2:        Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kankakee, Lake McHenry, Will
District 10:      Christian, Dewitt, Macon, Moultrie, Shelby
District 11:      Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Piatt
District 14:      Clark, Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Jasper
District 16:      Clay, Edwards, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, White
District 17:      Jackson, Jefferson, Perry, Randolph, Washington
Due to the tenure provision, as specified in the soybean checkoff program, the directors in District 10 (Jered Hooker, Clinton, Ill.), District 16 (Tim Scates, Carmi, Ill.), and District 17 (David Droste, Nashville, Ill.) are not eligible for re-election. The directors presently serving in District 2 (William Awe, St. Charles, Ill.), District 11 (Doug Schroeder, Mahomet, Ill.), and District 14 (Sherri Kannmacher, Martinsville, Ill.) are each eligible to serve another three-year term.
To be eligible to serve as a director, a candidate must be an Illinois resident and a resident grower of the district he or she seeks to represent, of legal voting age and be a contributor to the soybean checkoff. Petitions filed with the Illinois Director of Agriculture must contain signatures of at least five percent of the soybean growers from the district. The number of signatures required for the current election is: District 2, 131; District 10, 134; District 11, 152; District 14, 121; District 16, 110; and District 17, 109 signatures. Elections will be held July 5, 2018, at county Extension offices in the districts where vacancies exist.
The Illinois Soybean Board (ISB) manages and invests Illinois soybean checkoff funds in research, promotion and education programs that enhance soybean production and use and support national and international market development. For more information, visit the website
For more information, contact:
Amy Roady
Angel Terrell